akoym17's blog

VIS 218 Process Journal Week 4

This week was difficult because I found myself so busy with classes and thesis work that letting myself work on my series felt frivolous.

When I felt settled and sat down to work on my series, what I found is that I want each selection to be very personal. Our choices in entertainment connect to who we are as people and reveal what we value. By sharing what entertainment is holding my attention, I am inadvertently revealing what it is I needed to feed my soul. Though I’m sharing this with others, I want each description to feel like a diary entry. By doing this, I hope to make each piece feel less like a review of the media and more so a review of my change.

In this thread, I chose what media would count for each form.

I’ve begun drafting the written accompaniments for each entry, as well as sketching out what my index graphic would look like. The hardest part of building my webpage is fully going to be incorporating the links into the images. I hope that with time and practice I’ll figure it out. Sketch of Graphics -> https://www.are.na/block/10968909 Sketch of Linking Area -> https://www.are.na/block/10968910

As for our CSS practice, I found myself both excited and dreading the many options for design. In a way, it felt like option overwhelm. With so much to do, what should I pick? Is the text I selected enough to try out these elements? The answer to that second question ended up being no for many, like grids, but I’m glad I still tried.